EvoS students with E.O. Wilson
EvoS students with Harvard Professor Emeritus and UA alum Dr. Edward O. Wilson.

About EvoS

This minor includes two team-taught capstone courses that are integrated with the University’s Alabama Lecture’s on Life’s Evolution (ALLELE) series. Speakers for this series change annually, and a list of current and past speakers can be found here. This integration involves the interaction of students with invited speakers from various disciplines inside and outside the classroom, exposure intended to provide students with a vantage on post-baccalaureate opportunities for people with training in evolutionary studies.

EvoS is part of a worldwide consortium that includes 42 other institutions. This affiliation provides students access to additional resources outside UA, including an EvoS Journal, archived lectures by evolution experts, a newsletter, blogs, and links to student EvoS groups active at other institutions.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

UA EvoS students get to meet with experts in evolution, who visit the UA campus through the ALLELE (Alabama Lectures on Life’s Evolution) series. Here students discuss human evolution with Dr. Mohamed Noor, Professor of Biology from Duke University, following his dynamic lecture “Evolution in Warp Drive: How could there be so many humanoid species in Star Trek?” November 29, 2018.


The EvoS Curriculum Committee

Fred Andrus (Director), Geological Sciences, fandrus@ua.edu

Fred Andrus

Rebecca Totten Minzoni (past director), Geological Sciences, rminzoni@ua.edu

Rebecca Minzoni

Christopher Lynn (past and founding Director), Anthropology, cdlynn@ua.edu

christopher lynn headshot

Anthony Buhr, Communicative Disorders, anthony.buhr@ua.edu

Anthony Buhr

Ryan Earley, Biological Sciences, rlearley@ua.edu

Ryan Earley

William Evans, Journalism and Creative Media, wevans@ua.edu

William Evans

Joshua Eyer, Nursing, joshua.c.eyer@ua.edu

Joshua Eyer

Deborah Keene, Geological Sciences, Blount Undergraduate Initiative, dakeene@ua.edu

Deborah Keene

Kevin Kocot, Biological Sciences, kmkocot@ua.edu

Kevin Kocot

Erik Peterson, History, elpeterson@ua.edu

Erik Peterson

Laura Reed, Biological Sciences, lreed1@ua.edu

Laura Reed